Inspiration Through a Blue Lens

I ran away from my life this weekend and it felt wonderful. I admire people who can stay put for decades in their lives, I do, but I can only take it for so long. I suppose I always find myself running away to a hotel alone because I’m searching for–what? Maybe it’s the closest thing to parents I have. Isn’t that sad you are thinking. Not really. I was an orphan by the time I was 30 and hotels for me have always been a place I felt comforted and at ease. It may also be I can have guaranteed uninterrupted silence and writing time in a hotel room. Ironically, that is harder and harder to come by it seems now that I write for a living during daylight hours.

IMG_6076

But perhaps it isn’t so much as running away as a kind of returning. Returning to what is nudging me from under the surface while I race around life, never stopping long enough to listen to what is calling to me. For a writer, it is impossible not to start to resent all the noise keeping you from the stories that are quietly whispering for your attention. It was heaven to stare out at the city, think about my novel and lose track of time

At the end of my little tryst with myself, I didn’t feel like going back to real life  just yet and instead went to see the Palme d’Or winning movie, Blue is the Warmest Colour. I’m still in a state of speechlessness from this movie but all I can say is if you want to see a brilliant exploration of human love and the complex, interior landscape of what a broken heart looks like laid open in all its fragmented, shattered pieces, then rush to your theatre and see it before it goes to the small screen. There are few movies where an entire theatre weeps in unison with understanding and sorrow over the protagonist’s fate; this is one of them. Adèle Exarchopoulos and Léa Seydoux who play the couple in the movie, clearly suffered during the making of it. After the production they would both comment on the horrendous conditions, the grueling emotional toll of the love scenes, and the uncharted territory of making a film about love between two women when both were heterosexual. In an unprecedented move, the jury at Cannes awarded both actresses and the director with the best picture award. When you see this story you will understand why. Here is a scene that captures their first kiss, which anyone can relate to as it contains all the emotions of new love so poignantly in a simple moment.

Seeing Blue is the Warmest Colour reminded me that nothing of real artistic worth comes without some suffering. If it is fluid, easy to buy, grab, consume, take or give away, it is a story that can’t affect you. When I left the theatre , still wiping my face from my tears, I realized that story would stay with me forever. I hope life gives me the time to write something of worth. I won’t mind suffering for it.

2 Comments

Filed under Non-fiction

2 responses to “Inspiration Through a Blue Lens

  1. Thank you for sharing your experience. It seems that you have a gift to touch memories in other lifes- at least in mine. Your sentence: ‘a hotel is the closest thing to parents I have’ made me smile because it recalled events of my life, much different but in a way the same. I used to stay in hotels because of my work. And I remember being often so very disapointed and frustated about their services. I felt personaly offendet – which was stupid and a strong emotions that did not right fit with the given context. My reaction got more grown-up when it became clear to me, that a hotel realy mirrows mothers tasks: feeds you, makes your bed, comes when you call…seen from this emotional point I felt often neglected and not taken care of in the way my soul needed it….a link to the past. Fortunately today a hotel for me is a place where I am free from a lot of duties and can enjoy this. No more emotional offence. gerda

    • Great insights into the hotel-comfort relationship that is so interesting to me and obviously one I love to explore. Interesting that you relate this to feelings from the past-I felt the same but never directly correlated it to feeling neglected as a child but in fact, this is likely very true of my life as well. Thanks for reading and sharing here Gerda.

Leave a Reply

