The view from 30,000 feet

I am writing this on a plane from Memphis to Baltimore. Why that peculiar combination? Well, you’d have to take that up with Mr. W. I cleared customs with my precious small amount of toiletries and more importantly, my Christmas presents! When I found out Google had cleverly partnered with airlines to offer free Wi-fi I did what any self-respecting blogger would do and started a post.
The view from 30,000 feet is remarkably different. Beyond the inconsolable toddler behind me, there is a wonderful silence of place at this height. Here I exist between, as we all do in the air, that which we have left and that which we journey to. Given this idea, maybe we should be in a state of bliss? Afterall, how often do most of us get to be in this place?
I realize seasoned travelers might think this drivel, but I think there’s something oddly addictive about. Think of George Clooney’s character in Up In The Air , and his compulsion, in fact his inability, to leave the place of in between.
Lucky for me. I am blessed with lots of reasons to descend back to earth. One of them is waiting at an airport right now.

1 Comment

Filed under Relationships

One response to “The view from 30,000 feet

  1. Merci Martin, vous sont trop généreux avec vos commentaires est-ce que mais je suis reconnaissant pour vous en tant que lecteur, combien chanceux suis moi ?

Leave a Reply

