On mothers, imperfection and love

It is Mother’s Day and I’ve been very blessed with a son who not only took me to lunch but to an art gallery then dinner! Can you imagine doing all that for your mom? I know. But it isn’t all bliss on the parenting front. In fact, being a mother means your worst self will be scrutinized and commented on for as long as you are alive. Your children, in all their innocent and not so innocent honesty, will bring you face to face with your shortcomings like no one else.

Recently my son said he felt like I didn’t teach him enough tasks and that I was annoyingly positive. Well, there you are. But as I ruminated on my failings at 3 am, I thought of my own mother and her imperfections and how they now endear me to her even more. Where once I was a critical 20 something I am not a not-so-smug 40 something who can, with empathy and love, look back on some of situations I was in with my mom and hold them close as cherished memories instead of damning her for being, well, human. To that end, I wrote a poem about a time when, in today’s politically correct world, my mom would have been seen as lax or worse, negligent. But I see it very differently. I my son will too some day.

Imperfect Mother

It is the imperfections of my mother

I hold dearest—

The time for instance when turning off of

West 16th near UBC in her red Beetle the

door beside me swung open and since it was the seventies

I wasn’t wearing a seatbelt

and I went with the door, grasping the handle to

avoid the road rushing below me.

I looked back at my mother who

while still turning with her left hand lunged across to snatch my

flimsy t-shirt with her right and pulled me back into the car.

It was a one shot deal but she managed it. The door banged shut as

she completed the sharp turn and we kept on driving as though

I hadn’t just about fell out of the car and onto the road.

 

A block later a small eruption of laughter burst

From my mother. It made me clap my hands together

In gleeful loopy agreement of what I wasn’t sure but

The sun was streaming through oak leaves as we drove

Creating a beautiful pattern on my mother and I kicked my legs

Out from the edge of the sticky car seat to the radio played

 

Hot town, summer in the city
Back of my neck getting dirty and gritty
Been down, isn’t it a pity
Doesn’t seem to be a shadow in the city

 

I could say my mother was negligent

I could get maudlin, drink myself silly

Recount her imperfections that had caused

My life to zig zag like a silverfish on the run

 

But then I remember how she didn’t pull over

And fuss and fawn and make a big deal of

My near death fall and how years later this

Would give me courage when real death

And real heartbreak would pull me pull me down

 

And I would swim up to the surface, clapping my hands

Ecstatic for life’s small moments of survival.

 

*Song lyric from Summer in the City by Lovin Spoonful, 1966.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Memoir

5 responses to “On mothers, imperfection and love

  1. Beautiful Mags. You’re a stellar mom in my book. Sounds like you learned from the best.

  2. cassie.doyle@att.net

    Hi Margaret. I’m one of your far flung cousins, Cassie (seventh born of Red & Kath) currently living in San Francisco. I’ve been reading your blog for a couple of years, referred by one of my oldest sisters. Just wanted to say how much I loved your poem about your Mother who I have fond but scant memories of. It captures a beautiful reckless moment and brings back great memories of a time and type of parenting. As I recall, our mothers were friends.

    • Wow, this is amazing. I’m so touched Cassie! Indeed, our mothers were friends. I think she was very fond of all of her sister-in-law’s. It was a different era, so ripe for stories. Thank you for reading!

    • Wow, thank you Cassie! How lovely to hear from you. My mother seemed very fond of all of her sister-in-law’s. One of my earliest memories is of your dad throwing me up into the air at Maple Grove park. It was so high it took my breath away. Thanks so much for being a reader!

Leave a comment